Help needed

thumbnail
jenny v birkett, modified 14 Years ago at 3/2/10 4:49 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 3/2/10 4:49 PM

Help needed

I have been practising meditation for 10 years now and done many retreats. 3 years ago I felt my crown chakra open up. For the same period of time I have felt my body dissolve into subatomic particles. I have been able to feel the quality of those particles - for example if anger arises I will feel intense heat filling all of those subatomic particles in a whoosh throughout my whole body. (It's primarily body scanning techniques I have practised which seem to bring up this kind of experience more than other meditation techniques.) I sat a long retreat over the summer and on the second day I felt many other chakras open - my heart chakra (this has been happening on and off for a couple of years) opening at the throat, in between the eyes and at the lower spine. I had pleasant visions of Buddha's, indescribably glorious patterns, incredible colours and unpleasant visions of bodies decaying and skeletons. I then had repeated experiences of what seemed to be matter and not matter. It's very difficult to explain but the only metaphor I can use is that when you're a kid you make those books. You know - the ones of a running man. You draw on a page with him raising his leg, on the next page you draw his leg raising a bit higher, the next a bit higher and so on. You flip the book really quickly and it looks like the man is running. It was like that. I would be doing walking meditation and the whole process seemed to disintegrate into a series of moments with space in between the moments like when you flip through the book. Or I would be lying in bed and again it would disintegrate into a series of moments. Or I would be sitting and again there would be phenomena - the sitting and awareness and then complete absence but happening so quickly and sequentially. Phenomena / non phenomena, one after the other. My teacher at the time said it was a st