Burmese Retreat Centers

O S S, modified 11 Years ago at 1/10/13 8:17 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 1/10/13 8:17 PM

Burmese Retreat Centers

Hi there,

I've been practicing vipassana in the Goenka tradition for 6 years. I've done 6 ten day retreats, but am feeling ready to make a more serious long term commitment. I'm hoping to do a 60 days or more at a vipassana center in Asia, and am drawn to the centers in Burma, most likely in the Mahasi tradition. I've looked into it a bit, and have found a few centers, but would love to know more about them. Specifically, I'm curious about the Yeiktha centers, and in particular, the forest center in Hmawbi. Does anyone have thoughts or guidance to share? Anyone know something about the Yeiktha teachers, or have another teacher in Burma or elsewhere in Asia to strongly recommend?

Gratefully,

O
Be Free Now, modified 11 Years ago at 1/11/13 3:38 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 1/11/13 3:38 PM

RE: Burmese Retreat Centers

O S S:
I've been practicing vipassana in the Goenka tradition for 6 years. I've done 6 ten day retreats, but am feeling ready to make a more serious long term commitment. I'm hoping to do a 60 days or more at a vipassana center in Asia, and am drawn to the centers in Burma, most likely in the Mahasi tradition.

Wonderful!

I did 60+ days with Sayadaw U Pandita at Panditarama Forest Monastery. It's a huge step from 10 days, but it's so wonderful. It's pretty darn strict and you can make wonderful progress. Food is ABUNDANT and everything is done so yogis feel at peace. You will have your own kuti. The teachers there are probably some of the best.
O S S, modified 11 Years ago at 1/11/13 5:00 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 1/11/13 5:00 PM

Free Love Chi, thanks so much for your response. I had looked into that center, and am so happy to hear that you had a positive experience there.

You're not, by any chance, the same Chi I know from North Fork, are you?

Olivia
Andre d, modified 11 Years ago at 1/12/13 5:08 AM