I got lost, help me get back on track

Tom Tom, modified 14 Years ago at 3/6/10 2:38 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 3/6/10 2:38 PM

I got lost, help me get back on track

Hi,

I recently was meditating at home for 10 or so hours a day for a few weeks and I got a little lost. I wanted to get stream entry. I had been doing concentration practices for a few months and they had helped a lot. However, I made the mistake of stopping my bipolar meds right as I started doing insight practices and got lost in some sort of vision quest/fantasy worlds for about a month.

I think some of it may have been the siddhis tricking me or something as I got caught up in all these bizarre world trips and did strange things like thinking I was dying and traveling to the center of the universe/was contacted by supposedly immaterial beings who did some sort of surgery on me to help me get enlightened. This may have been my imagination getting carried away with me as the words about doing surgery on yourself in MCTB came to real life in a way.

I was contacted by all sorts of strange voices/spirits who were both benevolent and less than benevolent. I got caught up in them and their worlds that consisted of both them and all my confused conceptual ideas about enlightenment. Then I ended up in the hospital for a few days and got back on my meds and now I feel more or less fine (for a couple weeks now). I stopped practicing for the time period...cept for occasional concentration practice.