Doubts about my practice

Jaime Arnold, modified 14 Years ago at 3/9/10 3:25 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 3/9/10 3:25 AM

Doubts about my practice

Firstly, Just wanted to say what a great site this is. Ive been going through lots of the discussions and im very inspired by what i read. Its great too see serious discussions about meditation/Buddhism without the fluff!

Some practice background:

Ive been sitting for roughly 3 years:

1st year - any technique just to make me sit (mantra etc) usually for short periods of 10 to 15 mins, going through regular sitting phases and then seeing it dropping off for a few weeks. Went to various different centres around London trying to suss it out.

2nd year - Discovered Zazaen and something clicked in me (along with realising that you have to be regular!) and started sitting roughly twice a day for total of 40 mins.

3rd year - Twice a day zazen usually for total of 50 mins, sometimes more on the weekend (Ive started sitting 3x 25 mins when i can, or, along with my morning 25 min sit, Im sitting for 50 mins in the evening)

Ive done a few weekend retreats, and have got 10 day silent retreat this July (led by Stephen Batchelor).

My practice has become more serious over the last 3/4 months since my grandfather started coming to end of his battle with cancer (he's in a hospice at the moment). Seeing him deteriorate brought the urgency of my practice to light and has generally put things in perspective for me. (Ive finally admitted, for example, that Ive got a problem with drink and drugs and have started to seriously tackle it;. Its funny, you don't realise if you have problem if your occasional and functional, but thats another post…!). I think also that, after much reading, im starting to come to my own understanding abbot Buddhism (well, i admit that i know nothing now, which is a great start! emoticon