An experience of focusing attention 10 times a second

Conor O'Higgins, modified 11 Years ago at 2/17/13 5:39 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 2/17/13 5:39 PM

An experience of focusing attention 10 times a second

Hey guys,

I occasionally hear in this community that a person should renew their focus 10 times a second while doing concentration meditation.

I thought this advice might be a bit hard to understand for a lot of people, as we don't necessarily ave a good mental model how long one second is.

So I made a click track and uploaded it - it's one minute of clicks repeating 10 times a second. You can listen online or download here: https://soundcloud.com/user306229778/10hz-clicks

I've had some interesting experiences using this as an object of concentration practise. Try listening to it and experiencing each individual click with presence of mind. It's fun.

Cheers
Christian Calamus, modified 11 Years ago at 2/18/13 12:40 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 2/18/13 12:40 AM

RE: An experience of focusing attention 10 times a second

[quote=Conor O'Higgins]

I've had some interesting experiences using this as an object of concentration practise. Try listening to it and experiencing each individual click with presence of mind. It's fun.

Cheers

Could you describe your practice with this a bit more, and maybe give some details about what happens when you use it?
I didn't try it earnestly, but in order to be accessible for me, the thing would have to start at about one click per second and speed up gradually from there. Also one could add a little more variety by say (randomly) assigning frequencies to the clicks, panning them left and right etc.
Conor O'Higgins, modified 11 Years ago at 2/18/13 2:55 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 2/18/13 2:55 PM

Could you describe your practice with this a bit more, and maybe give some details about what happens when you use it?