Arising and Passing Away

Gurudas Bailur, modified 14 Years ago at 3/20/10 2:17 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 3/20/10 2:17 PM

Arising and Passing Away

I have been practcing meditation in Goenka tradition for four years and have attended two ten day courses. While I have no problem with Anapana, I have one difficulty in Vipassana meditation. I do not experience the arising and passing way of sensations. I start with focussing attention on the top of the head, where I feel, what I can only describe as a sensation of energy. When I move my attendtion to the scalp or to the front of the face, i do feel a similar sensation there, but the sensation at the top of hte head does not go away completely. I feel that a residual part of the sensation remains there.. As I proceed to focus attension on other parts of the body, sensation arises on the part on which I am focussing attention, but I feel that the feeling of energy in the part just completed does not go away;a part is still left there. As a result, on the completion of the meditation session, I feel a sensation of energy in the entire body, which appears to be the residual energy left in each part as I move along. Certainly, the nature of sensations is different in different part os teh body. Hoever, while I can feel the arising and passing away of the breath and thoughts in Anapana, i do not experience the same in focussing on sensations Vipassana. Is there someting wrong in what I am doing?

thumbnail
Daniel M Ingram, modified 14 Years ago at 3/22/10 1:46 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 3/22/10 1:46 AM

RE: Arising and Passing Away

A few things:

By energy, I assume you mean something tingling, vibrating, changing, with lots of little pulses of sensations arising and vanishing, right?