Lara's practice log

Lara D, modified 11 Years ago at 2/22/13 9:27 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 2/22/13 9:27 PM

Lara's practice log

Hi everyone,

I'm still relatively new to meditation in general. I've dabbled with it here and there, but my practice is still a bit disorganized. I read MTCB for the first time a few weeks ago and it was a real eye opener. I'd been searching for a more definitive guide to meditation and it was precisely what I found / wanted.

Currently, my daily goal is to practice for between hour to two per day, divided up into morning and evening sessions. I've crossed what I believe is the A&P a few times, mostly in the form of lucid dreaming, but I haven't yet gotten to that point in my seated meditation. Additionally, I think that I've reached the third or fourth samatha jhanas before, but I'm still at the early stages in terms of my noting/insight practices. The latter has been my focus for the past week or so and I'm attempting to cultivate more mindfulness through my daily activities.

I have not yet had a chance to go on any retreats, though I'm hoping to do so in the future. I'm also hoping to sign up for a Life Retreat within the next week or two. For those who don't know or who might be interested, it's an internet based class organized by the same folks who do Buddhist Geeks. I'm looking forward to it and the prospect of getting a bit more individualized guidance and instruction.

Anyhow, I'm making this log to hopefully track my progress, give myself a chance to "analyze" to my heart's content [and save myself the trouble "on the cushion"], and potentially get some feedback from other practitioners who have gone through the same process. Feel free to comment, if you'd like. I'll do my best to check back every once in awhile. emoticon
Lara D, modified 11 Years ago at 2/23/13 9:33 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 2/23/13 9:33 PM

RE: Lara's practice log

OK, so this entry is for yesterday and today.