Teacher in Auckland NZ, or online?

thumbnail
Andrew Young, modified 11 Years ago at 2/24/13 1:07 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 2/24/13 1:07 PM

Teacher in Auckland NZ, or online?

I'm basically a meditation newbie. I've dabbled in the past but with no real skill or focus. My lack of enlightenment is possibly apparent by how often I start sentences with "I", and "my". The Buddhist Geeks podcast has been giving me heaps of good info though, and I recently started reading Dan Ingrams Hardcore Dharma book... it resonates like a gong in my head. Prior to that it was just a confusing mess.

It's finally time to get serious, but I don't want to waste my effort and time going down a cul-de-sac. I'm in Auckland, New Zealand and am wondering if anyone knows of any no nonsense teachers here. Dan is coming from a Theravada p.o.v right? If so, that seems a good way to go. Ultimately I'm looking for the big E, but I know I need to nail concentration first.

We probably have an economies of scale issue here, being quite a small country, so maybe I need to consider online teachers. If anyone knows of any particularly great online teachers, please let me know.

Thanks y'all!
thumbnail
Andrew Young, modified 11 Years ago at 3/16/13 3:56 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 3/16/13 3:56 PM

RE: Teacher in Auckland NZ, or online?

This post has been here a while, but I'm still waiting. Any advice appreciated.
thumbnail
Dream Walker, modified 11 Years ago at 3/16/13 7:47 PM
Created 11 Years ago at 3/16/13 7:47 PM

Online teachers - check out this page- Kenneth Folk dharma
Ron crouch is in Hawaii...pretty close to your time zone...
I got a lot out of MCTB and practicing. So don't let it stop you that you have no teacher yet....
Good luck
~D
thumbnail
Andrew Young, modified 10 Years ago at 4/13/13 5:42 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 4/13/13 4:29 PM