I barely started

Ivo B, modified 11 Years ago at 3/11/13 4:04 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 3/11/13 4:04 AM

I barely started

and I already am experiencing new fun sensations.
I'm a total newb regarding meditation. I tried a few times couple of years ago and I guess this is my third attempt. I would really like to develop strong concentration skills first so as I can reap benefits in "real life" to. I'd like that strong presence everybody is talking about and I hope practicing samatha will bring it. To keep it short. I started with sittings a couple of days ago. Had 5 sittings of approx 1 hour length. Two times now, something happened towards the end of meditating session. I should clarify that I'm only trying to keep focus on my breath. What I do is just trying to observe abdominal area while it rises and falls on inhale and exhale. When thoughts come I just note them and go back to noticing breath. Noting is very simple. Talk, think, wish,worry,... If I can "count" ten breaths I'm happy.

Anyway ... on my second sit I had a strange but nice sensation. It starts with a slight feeling of nausea in my stomach area and slight pressure builds up in sinus cavity area. I also notice a need for mild burps. I burp. Then all of a sudden I can visually notice sort of brightening. It's as something is building up. It culminates with a body buzz. As if tiny bubbles are vibrating all over my body accompanied by warmth. Breathing gets faster but focus on breath is now easier to keep. It's a nice feeling but it doesn't last long. This morning it happened again in the last seconds of my 45 minute. I sat a minute or two past the bells and just felt satisfied with the sitting. Then (4:30) I had to give my toddler some antibiotics.

Anybody with similar experience?
Ivo B, modified 11 Years ago at 3/11/13 8:38 AM
Created 11 Years ago at 3/11/13 8:38 AM

RE: I barely started

Although my initial goals are enhancing concentration skills this thread should really reside in the