white noise

Tom Tom, modified 11 Years ago at 12/27/12 5:02 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 3/31/10 3:03 AM

white noise

thumbnail
Nikolai , modified 14 Years ago at 3/31/10 6:51 AM
Created 14 Years ago at 3/31/10 6:50 AM

RE: Hearing voices in white noise

I am no expert on these types of experiences. I know they can be frightening as a family member has gone through it.

I can tell you what S.N. Goenka says on the long courses in his tradition of Vipassana. If you come across experiences of said nature you can just say "Mara, you are seen" And continue on with your meditation. Mara being the personification of our defilements or the troublesome deva from the stories of Gotoma Buddha. It helped me at a certain stage in my practice when I felt overwhelmed by negativity. It brought me back to being mindful and not immersed and rolling in what was occurring.

Or if I was in your position, I would note those voices as just "noise' or "voices" and objectify the hell out of them, making them a part of you meditation. And don't roll in them nor let the "noise" take you way from being mindful.

I am sure you will get better advice from some of those more experienced in these things. Hang in there!

Metta
J Adam G, modified 14 Years ago at 3/31/10 12:15 PM
Created 14 Years ago at 3/31/10 11:58 AM

Yeah, you probably don't want to get involved with what the voice is saying. It's content, so it's not appropriate for insight meditation, and I just can't see how it would be a good idea to use it as an object for concentration meditation. My recommendation would be to maintain your attention on some other sense base, like touch or vision, because voices of any type can be pretty distracting. If you note the voice in, say, the A&P or Dissolution, it's pretty easy to make it go away. However, during Fear, something like this could become pretty scary, so your best bet if Fear hits you strongly may be to switch to a sense base whose input isn't quite so ominous.