Best practice to support a demanding daily life?

thumbnail
Aziz Solomon, modified 13 Years ago at 4/9/10 4:28 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 4/9/10 4:28 PM

Best practice to support a demanding daily life?

I am new to Dharma Overground- indeed it is the first online community I've ever joined- and it is really exciting to be a part of it. The spiritual journey can be intensely isolating, so it is great to find fellow-travelers who are striding ahead on the path (and with their feet clearly still on the ground!)

I have been doing vipassana (having learned at a Goenka course) on and off for about 7 years. My meditation practice recently received a significant boost, thanks to guidance from Daniel's book, but I am also very unsure of which direction to take it right now. Just as I am starting to get some real insight into the 'three characteristics', the demands of my work/ personal life have massively increased and have to become my top priority.

Without going into too many details, I am about to become a father of twins and am struggling to finish a PhD and get started in a challenging new career at the same time. I am therefore quite terrified of entering 'the dark night' at this juncture and getting totally overwhelmed and unable to fulfill my 'worldly' responsibilities. I don't think I will have the opportunity to go on a serious retreat in the next few years, so my goal is really to focus on living the best life possible 'off the cushion' until my babies are a little grown up.

I do want to keep meditating though, and would be extremely grateful for your advice with this: Is samatha practice generally more directly beneficial for keeping anxiety levels low and motivation high? I have generally found vipassana more profoundly transformative, but then I haven't yet attained to any of the jhanas. Any suggestions for where I should be aiming would be much appreciated!
thumbnail
Aziz Solomon, modified 13 Years ago at 4/10/10 6:11 AM