Spinning

thumbnail
Kaitlin Blue, modified 13 Years ago at 4/12/10 7:24 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 4/12/10 7:22 PM

Spinning

Hello fellow practitioners,
I checked with the search engine for any descriptions of what I just experienced but I couldn't find anything relevant. I apologize if this was a topic already brought up in the past, I think I experienced this once before but it's mostly new to me. Be easy on me; I'm a newbie to this website and Samatha meditation.
I've been practicing consistently for 4 months now and sit for 30 minutes at this point. Today, I decided to meditate in my car so I reclined, closed my eyes and focused on my breath. I think it was about 5-10 minutes into the meditation that I started getting this spinning sensation (like one might get when they've had too much to drink.) Part of me considered stopping it but I decided to just ride the sensation out and see where it went.

I felt like I was spinning intensely to my right and I noticed it seemed to slow and accelerate with my breath. Eventually the spinning sensation started to feel like it was getting smaller inside of me, began to spin far away yet still inside of me and located itself in the right side of my chest. I felt like my consciousness became split into two parts, the tiny part of me still spinning deep inside my chest and the large me which was becoming less defined and seemed to have an almost hallow quality. I felt interrupting thoughts and sounds butt-in but they became very distant to the experience, very far away.