Lost long time Goenka practitioner

Luke G, modified 10 Years ago at 6/3/13 10:12 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 6/2/13 11:29 AM

Lost long time Goenka practitioner

Hi all.

I started reading Daniel's book again lately and I'm trying to get a sense of where I might be (or more importantly, what is the most skillful way to continue practicing from here). I've been practicing in the Goenka tradition for about 7 years and have taken 5 10-day retreats and 2 8-day retreats in those centers. I've been practicing daily (1-2 hours a day) for 6 years.

I got back from my most recent retreat (an 8-day one) about a week ago. That retreat was very calm, and it seemed that the main obstacles I was fighting were distraction (seeing thoughts as thoughts) and some minor pain. I felt a lot of minor negativity that had been thick in the previous months burning off like layers of skin. Unlike some other retreats I was not hard on myself for getting distracted, but instead just assumed practicing immediately. I was trying to hone in on practicing with precise effort, instead of being too detatched or too attached.

I became aware that the scanned body sensations were serving as a kind of foreground with other body sensations (especially in the head) and thoughts forming a subtle background. I started investing as much of my awareness as I could into the scanned body sensations. When I did this the oscillation of awareness between the scanned body sensations and other body sensations become more clear.

In one notable experience was where I got particularly concentrated, the body-scanning meditation seemed to become equivalent to a silent noting practice. Mental and physical sensations became distinct, and the body sensations were just one object being noted in the chain instead of seeming as a kind of foreground.