Quickly Cycling Pre-SE, Near Misses?

Justin M, modified 10 Years ago at 6/5/13 7:42 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 6/5/13 7:42 PM

Quickly Cycling Pre-SE, Near Misses?

Hello everyone,

First post on the forum, so I'll give you a very quick background. I've been meditating on and off for a few years with my primary practice being zazen. A couple of weeks ago, I opened MCTB and read it again because my practice was floundering and I was getting lost in terms of what I should be doing. I had read parts of MCTB previously, but at the time, I didn't really understand (or care about) a lot of the content - specifically the information about the maps. This time was a whole different story, and I had several big realizations on this read-through, including:

a) I had been meditating with a lack of energy and investigation. Before, I would just sit and watch, but with a lazy energy. I wasn't actively investigating the nature of phenomena.

b) I believe that I've been in Dark Night territory for many years. I've had several AP events throughout my life, each time greatly renewing my interest in spirituality, and then soon after, I would turn my back on it all and not want to practice. Basically, I've "rolled up the carpet" several times along the way.

So after having these realizations, I felt inspired and I started meditating again with a renewed energy and sense of purpose.

Since then, I feel I've made very quick progress. I've been meditating daily for at least 30 minutes, and I try to stay as mindful as possible throughout the day, noting my various thoughts, physical sensations, energy movements, etc.