Stream Entry and Beyond

Paul Hurley, modified 13 Years ago at 4/20/10 4:19 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 4/20/10 4:19 AM

Stream Entry and Beyond

Hi,
I don't post here very often. I have been meditating now for almost eight years. The first seven of those were solo and clueless. I had no idea what I was doing. I knew nothing of maps or that teachers such as Daniel actually existed. I had a kundalini awakening around my third year and crossed the A&P last year for the first time without realising what it was. It coincided with me finding Daniel, his book and this forum. Since about October last year I have been working with Kenneth over at Kenneth Folk Dharma because I feel more inclined toward Advaita practice - I'm not very good at noting. On the fifteenth of January of this year I attained to stream entry and very soon after the sixth jhana and in the last three weeks I have attained to the state of "Witness," or non-dual awareness. I am also strongly established in equanimity once more, so perhaps second path is not far off. This has all happened in a year. I have not been on a retreat in the eight years I have been practising, however I do practice every day, if I'm lucky, maybe two lots of thirty five minutes and pay very close attention to advice. During my daily activity, I practice surrender as often as I can. I am posting this here to encourage those who, like me, may not have the opportunity to go on retreats, even short ones. I have a young family and my wife is not well. If I can do it, then you most certainly can too! I would however like to affirm very strongly that if you can go on retreat, take it, eat it up, and strive on. I think what Kenneth and Daniel are offering to this global community of practitioiners is a priceless gem. Without them, I would probably have spent the next ten years clueless as well. I wish you all well, as Buzz Light Year said, 'To infinity and beyond!!"
Paul
thumbnail
Daniel M Ingram, modified 13 Years ago at 4/21/10 1:05 AM