(Re)Kick-starting practice: Questions on timing

Victor S B Cova, modified 10 Years ago at 6/28/13 11:04 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 6/28/13 11:04 AM

(Re)Kick-starting practice: Questions on timing

Hey people,

Background: I've been meditating on and off for quite a few years now. I usually meditate pretty intensely for a month or two, then stop for a few weeks, then start again for quite a few months at a much lesser intensity (30min/day max), then I stop for a few weeks, then start again quite strong. I started off with some concentration practice a loooong while back, then started noting about 3 years ago, then shifted to some "accepting everything" practices, then went a bit more into the powers/magick... And now I want back into noting. I'm quite certain I'm pre-A&P.

Context: I'm pretty free to use my time as I please for weeks at a time, then I have to travel for a couple of weeks where I cannot do as I please, and that's when I usually stop practicing consistently. I have about a week before I have to travel for 2 weeks, and I thought I would try meditating intensively and doing a mini-retreat to kickstart the work and help me get back into gears. I got inspired by the Reformed Slacker's guide to retreats on this forum.