mindfulness of breath becomes hard all of a sudden, what happened?

Srdjan Pamtivek, modified 10 Years ago at 7/28/13 7:18 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 7/28/13 7:18 AM

mindfulness of breath becomes hard all of a sudden, what happened?

Hi,

I started practicing keeping my attention of my breath, as it enters and exits my nostrils, as outlined in "The Heart of Buddhist Meditation" book by Nyanaponika Thera.

It was just 20 minute sessions each morning, and I was getting better at it, seemed to catch all interruptions, quick to refocus. I found it had a very positive impact on my ability to focus throughout the day.

And I wasn't perfectly disciplined with it either, I would miss a day here and there, but it was still OK.

But somehow, gradually, I don't know what happened, but I just kind of lost it... I can't keep my mind from wandering even for this 20 minute period... when my alarm rings after 20 minutes it's like I had 3 minutes of effective focus all together. And I'm not so good at focusing throughout the day either. I don't know what happened emoticon

Is this something usual? How to overcome it? What happened?

Sorry for bumping in like this, this is my first post, but I hope you have some advice emoticon
And also, I find the period between breaths the toughest to stay focused, what am I supposed to be mindful of, after I inhale, but before I exale, it's like a space for this noise from my mind to invade..
Banned For waht?, modified 10 Years ago at 7/28/13 8:12 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 7/28/13 8:12 AM

RE: mindfulness of breath becomes hard all of a sudden, what happened?

thinking is normal and losing yourself into them too. I did lose myself even half hour into thinking something during a practice before i caught myself, it still happens time to time.

imho it is also impossible to hold mind blank. Later, thoughts will just not interrupt you when you fall deeper into yourself(samadhi).