Interoception, Proprioception, Cortical homunculus, Body distortions

thumbnail
Dream Walker, modified 10 Years ago at 8/7/13 6:35 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 8/7/13 6:35 PM

Interoception, Proprioception, Cortical homunculus, Body distortions

I've been researching some interesting things about the body and mind and wanted to share and discuss the subject.
here is a really interesting web site that explains the subject well and goes into energetics and the nervous system. Interoception at ancestralmovement.com

The picture above shows a picture of the Homunculus representation based off the mapping of the cortex
Cortical_homunculus

Homunculus Thread
Serif Panfried:
Hi all - Hope you are well -
Just wondering if any of you had any ideas on the following phenomena that has occurred a few times now. I had this happen a couple of times in my pre/early teens and at that time was not doing any sort of meditation practice. I have been doing shamatha for about 2 years and this same thing has occurred a few times in the last 8 months or so.
It initially starts subtly at the base/back of the throat as a sensation that sort of inflates/solidifies with the breath and spreads gradually to the front of the face/mouth and down through the hands making my face feel like it belongs to a horse or something and my hands feel like basketballs. There is also a slight rolling sensation of feeling very large to very small simultaneously. It starts, it happens then fades away without any input from me (it seems?) - but it is very different from any normal sensation. Through meditation practice, it is now quite pleasant and sitting with it is easy. When I have had these feelings when much younger back then they were somewhat disconcerting.