Metta - Need help

thumbnail
Richard Zen, modified 10 Years ago at 8/18/13 9:45 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 8/18/13 9:45 PM

Metta - Need help

Hello,

I've decided to get better at metta and I would appreciate advice from those of you who benefited greatly from the practice.

• Did you use mantras with sitting only?
  • Did you use mindfulness along with the practice?
  • Any applications in daily life?
thumbnail
Brian Eleven, modified 10 Years ago at 8/18/13 10:22 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 8/18/13 10:22 PM

RE: Metta - Need help (Answer)

Richard,
I've had some experience with Metta practice. I used Bhante Vimalaramsi's method, but before starting I was directed, by Sister Khema, to do Forgiveness Meditation.
I found that it really helped me develop Metta towards myself, and others. Like Metta you begin with forgiveness towards yourself, then forgive others. It is done both formally and throughout the day. I believe you are familiar with Bhante V, you can find Metta instructions from the forgiveness link.

Best of Luck

Metta,

Brian.
thumbnail
bill of the wandering mind, modified 10 Years ago at 8/18/13 11:30 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 8/18/13 11:30 PM

RE: Metta - Need help

+1 on what Brian said. Bhante's method is very powerful for metta. I started with the forgiveness practice as well.
M N, modified 10 Years ago at 8/19/13 2:03 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 8/19/13 1:12 AM

Hi!

Did you use mantras with sitting only?

Mantras, visualization and whatever,theese things are meant to make the feeling arise; I suggest to use any combination that works for you untilyou get the feeling, and then finding the way to sink into it, enjoying it. Obviously, you can also use a part of your attention to keep visual/talk in mind if you find that it heps to sustaining/increasing the feeling; some experimentation might be in order to find what works best for you.