Pressure and stuckness and taking oneself too seriously!

Oli First, modified 10 Years ago at 8/21/13 8:29 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 8/21/13 8:28 AM

Pressure and stuckness and taking oneself too seriously!

Hello there,
I am writing to see if anybody might be able to offer some guidance to me.
I've been practising meditation for almost 10 years - my commitment has wavered at times - and this period has included a goenka retreat near the beginning when I was about 18, quite a few visits to the forest monasteries in britain, and a handful of retreats at Amaravati retreat centre.
I've generally tried using mindfulness of the breathing / body - and it has been a rather arduous path. I am able to sit still for much longer periods than in the past, but in general I do not feel that the mind has really settled down very much in all these years. Sometimes I can feel calmer, during other sittings I can feel quite agitated, but in general there seems to be a lack of clarity and I'm not sure I've ever really had a taste of the mind free from hindrances.
Over the years, there has been a sense of blockage / tension in the upper back area, and it includes the chest area. It is a blockage that seems to be bound up in some way with the breathing, and it feels like it could be connected with the mind trying to control things. It is almost always there when I sit - the extent to which it disturbs me, however, varies. It has got to the point where this feeling is often with me, to some extent, when I'm not sitting. Off the cushion it is often associated with a 'pressure' feeling - a feeling of somehow that I need to be doing more. It's also associated with anxiety - and this has been a recurring theme - there is often a sense that the breathing does not feel like a 'safe' place to put my attention.