RE: William Quixote’s Mediation Log William Quixote 10/29/13 7:00 AM
RE: William Quixote’s Mediation Log William Quixote 10/29/13 7:04 AM
RE: William Quixote’s Mediation Log William Quixote 5/24/14 5:19 PM
RE: William Quixote’s Mediation Log William Quixote 5/28/14 10:39 AM
William Quixote, modified 10 Years ago at 8/22/13 11:28 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 8/22/13 11:20 PM

William Quixote’s Mediation Log

Brief introduction:

I am new to meditation. I started mediating 4 weeks ago after reading Mastering the Core Teachings of the Buddha.
Since starting, I’ve mediated every day, for a median of 25 minutes. My focus so far has been on developing concentration. Overall my hope / plan is to work on concentration and jhanas first and then move to noting based insight practice once I’ve developed strong concentration.

After reading his book, I emailed Daniel with some questions and he suggested I join Dharma Overground so here I am. : )

I will be logging my practice in this thread. Thank you in advance for any help and advice I later receive on this site. I hope someday to reach a level where I can pass the good advice I receive now onto others. Thanks!
William Quixote, modified 10 Years ago at 8/22/13 11:26 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 8/22/13 11:26 PM

RE: William Quixote’s Mediation Log

Meditation log date: August 22, 2013
Style: Concentration
Time: 30 minutes
Location: Outside on my roof (don’t worry its flat and edges are at least 20 feet away on either side so no safety concerns)

Subjective Notes:
Started with object of concentration as breath. Initially focused on breath. For a while, I had several thoughts pop in and out of head, but they didn’t lead to long chains. Thought pops up, happens, is gone. At some point in this stage I thought a fly or bug had landed on my head and tried to brush it off (in retrospect I don’t think a bug really landed on me).