Beginner question: Incorporating Insight practice

Steven B, modified 10 Years ago at 9/9/13 7:31 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 9/9/13 7:31 PM

Beginner question: Incorporating Insight practice

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the forums, and also to MCTB, and I have been meditating for a little over 18 months now. I have owned a copy of MCTB for a while, but have never felt ready to read it until recently (great book by the way, Daniel!)

Anyway, I'll keep this brief as it's a fairly basic question. My practice has involved concentrating on the breath for two 30 minute sessions every day, as I have been really interested in the samatha jhanas. I think I'd like to start incorporating some insight practise into my routine. Is this a good idea for a beginner like me? I've been of the opinion that I should stay with concentration practices until I attain first jhana, and then start to incorporate the noting technique. After having read MCTB, I'm thinking that I should have been incorporating noting practice from the start.

I'd really appreciate any comments anyone has about this. If I should start noting practice, how should I go about doing it? Should I replace one of the two daily meditations with noting practice? What would be a good beginner routine?

Thanks in advance.
M N, modified 10 Years ago at 9/10/13 12:56 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 9/10/13 12:53 AM

RE: Beginner question: Incorporating Insight practice

Hi!

So, this is my personal take on this, I'm sure others will disagree; however, I think that you should add noting if and only if you are willing/capable to note about one time per second 24/7 until you get path.
Otherwise, I suggest sticking with jhanas.

Welcome, btw!
thumbnail
Eelco ten Have, modified 10 Years ago at 9/10/13 1:11 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 9/10/13 1:11 AM

Mario Nistri:
Hi!