2 Jhanas at the same time?

Kenny Whitman, modified 10 Years ago at 9/21/13 3:00 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 9/21/13 3:00 AM

2 Jhanas at the same time?

Hi all, this is my first post here so I'll give a little background info as its also obviously relevant to the question too. emoticon

I started reading about Buddhism and practicing meditation 6 years ago. 4 years ago I throw myself into it in a very difficult time in my life when I just couldn't bare to be me anymore, and very successful it was too, I believe at this point I experienced an A+P event. At the time I had never heard of the Dark Night, and things became very tough, what I had come to believe was some kind of ego backlash - I had witnessed no-self and clung desperately to a self which was excruciatingly painful as at some level I had already witnessed the illusion. Through all of this I have been self taught through books and vids, I had visited one center but didn't feel the teachings were genuine. I felt that I could see all my shit and that was tough enough to deal with, without being in a place full of people with all their own shit haha.

Things got tough for a while and I did some crazy things in an attempt to find the peace I had had, including leaving my life and living in a van, but always my meditation was filled with noise, pain and a lack of central focus. Thing have been extremely stressful at times and I have suffered with tension in my head, especially behind my eyes, where my spine meets my skull and what some people might refer to as my third eye just above my eye brows. A few months ago I met someone who had read the Core Teachings book and I'm starting to understand a lot more.

So to the question.......