Feeling Very Stuck

Jacob Swan Richey, modified 10 Years ago at 9/26/13 12:28 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 9/26/13 12:28 AM

Feeling Very Stuck

I have been struggling for the past three years with a particularly stubborn neurosis that has made it enormously difficult to practice insight meditation. When I was first introduced to insight meditation in Barre, Mass. at IMS, I connected in a profound way to the practice and to the teachings. For months afterwards, practicing insight meditation brought me tremendous joy, peace, clarity and equanimity. I felt happier than I had felt in my entire life, for I had discovered the path to lasting, unconditional happiness. After about four months, however, a new, unfamiliar neurosis began to develop. I became obsessed with practicing perfectly. My practice was overtaken by neurotic thought processes that thoroughly succeeded in highjacking my ability to connect with the technique. I have been sitting for the past three years stubbornly hoping for insight into the nature of the neurosis to arrive. For two and a half of those years, I was not using any technique, because any effort to apply a technique would result in an upsurge of unpleasant, neurotic, perfectionist thoughts and emotions about trying to do the technique perfectly. I would just sit, and zone out completely. Two months ago, however, I began doing body scans. Implementing the technique has resulted in very inconsistent results. I sometimes stand up from a sit feeling great relief and clarity. Other times, I feel more confused, further lost in concept. I have not been able to identify what leads to sits that result in clarity and what leads to sits that result in confusion.