RE: Looking for a teacher Travis Gene McKinstry 12/7/13 11:09 PM
RE: Looking for a teacher Travis Gene McKinstry 12/6/13 6:06 PM
RE: Looking for a teacher katy steger,thru11.6.15 with thanks 10/19/13 8:45 AM
RE: Looking for a teacher Ben Laufer 10/19/13 8:58 AM
RE: Looking for a teacher Richard Zen 10/10/13 8:00 AM
Ben Laufer, modified 10 Years ago at 10/9/13 9:46 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 10/9/13 9:46 PM

Looking for a teacher

Hello, I have been practicing seriously for about six months. I have been on two 10 day retreats and one 4 day retreat. My most recent 10 day was at the Insight Meditation Center. The first two were at the Goenka one. I sit every morning for 1 hour and a half and every evening for 1 hour. I am currently doing the noting practice. While sitting I am noting tingling, pulsing, breathing in and out, heat, coolness, wanting, craving, aversion, peace, relaxing, stinging, etc. This is the usual list. During the sit I do fast noting and then usually slow it down and after a while it feels natural if I let go of the noting completely and just experience everything. I am noting throughout the day when I'm not in school or playing music. I can get more detailed about my practice, but I figured I would start here. I am looking for someone who can help guide me to stream entry. Let me know if you are available through skype. I am hoping to find someone I can check in with on some sort of regular basis. Thanks again.
Ben
thumbnail
katy steger,thru11615 with thanks, modified 10 Years ago at 10/10/13 7:11 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 10/10/13 6:37 AM

RE: Looking for a teacher

Hi Ben,

I am not a teacher, but I wanted to pass on to you general advice from the Anguttara Nikaya about teachers of buddhist-based teaching (dharma), should you find one or should you choose to guide yourself sooner than later:

[indent]AN 5.159