basic help

Peter G G, modified 10 Years ago at 10/30/13 11:14 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 10/30/13 11:14 AM

basic help

Hi all,

I have been meditating for over 5 years (30 mins daily), my practice started after going to Shambala ( http://ny.shambhala.org/ ) were I took 2 weekend mini retreats ( 2 levels of their core program) after that I got disenchanted as it seemed to me they were more concerned about making you take every little course than really helping you. Then a friend gave me Daniel's MTCB and I feel it changed my life and really give me clarity of where to go.

Unfortunately I feel a little stuck right now. From MTCB I gathered that I have to attain a very strong concentration before trying to go or explore other things so my goal has been to attain my first Jhana in concentration. Currently in my practice, I sit down (eyes semi-open looking down) focus on my breath and I can be very focused on it for the first minutes, I have conversations (noting??) like: "I am really focused today", "I am breathing fine", "I feel my nostrils", then maybe after 5 minutes I lose that initial momentum and start focusing on feelings, or sounds or whatever is around me, my mind might start wondering a little but I am able to bring it back to the breath and feelings. I might also be feeling relaxed and sometimes pleasure and then suddenly I disconnect, wonder again and have to start focusing on the breath.

I am trying to understand if am I doing concentration at this point or did I move to something else perhaps insight? how far away am I from the first jhana? should I just disregard the rest and focus on my breath relentlessly?

Thanks for your advice,

Peter
thumbnail
Nikolai , modified 10 Years ago at 10/30/13 3:44 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 10/30/13 3:44 PM

RE: basic help

Peter G G:
Hi all,