Seeking Greater Clarity on What’s Being Experienced

Bob Hunter, modified 10 Years ago at 11/4/13 7:57 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 11/4/13 7:57 PM

Seeking Greater Clarity on What’s Being Experienced

This is first post so apologies for the length – I’ve sort of been holding all of this stuff inside for quite a while.

A Little Background

I have been practicing for five years, occasionally intensely (2-3 hours of meditation a day), typically less intensely (1 ½ - 2 hours a day), and occasionally I have “fallen off the horsey” completely. Over that five years I have logged about 70 days or retreat experience, mostly at Insight Meditation Society (IMS) in Massachusetts, with the longest retreat being two weeks and most being seven to nine days.

Most recently, I have been practicing in the more “typical” way described above and have been more diligent and dedicated. Practice is “up and down” as always, but I am increasingly able to simply stay with what’s going on, noticing pleasant, unpleasant or neutral, often seeing “the story” as it arises without running with it, or running with it only briefly. On occasion, of course, I’m still “dazed and confused”…

About a year ago while on retreat at IMS I had what I will call “an opening” and over the past year have experienced a lot of struggle around it.

Description of the Opening and What I Think (?) Might Have Been Going On