Analayo

thumbnail
katy steger,thru11615 with thanks, modified 10 Years ago at 11/15/13 3:00 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 11/15/13 2:59 PM

Analayo

Hi all,

Many people on the DhO recommend reading the German scholar-monk's work, "Satipatthana Sutta, The Direct Path". Its references and meticulous footnoting are outstanding, for example.

Here is an interview a friend sent me with Ven. Analayo. While he goes into how he practices metta and anapanasati meditation in the interview, I was particularly moved by how he committed to actually practicing per hour of study more hours of meditation. His work stands out for excellent documentation and now I know why, in part at least, it feels so accurate experientially.

Here is an excerpt from the interview:

V: How has studying these suttas affected your own meditation?
Analayo: It’s the ground of my practice. Before I started my academic work I decided that however many hours I studied I would spend more hours meditating. That’s why it took me six years to complete my work. I would never lose touch with my meditation practice for the sake of theoretical study. On the other hand, though, a good knowledge of Buddha’s teachings ‘clears the path’ as it enables you to know what you’re doing and then you don’t experience doubt. Now I can learn from various meditation teachers without getting confused because I know what lines I am pursuing in my own practice.
The Buddha gave the talks that are recorded in the suttas because he thought people should know what they are doing. Meditation is like eating and the knowledge you have gained from the suttas is like the digestive juice that makes it possible for your body to digest the nutrients. The two belong together, but meditation has to have the priority. Doing PhD research is perhaps going to an extreme. But studying informed sources can be helpful for everyone. They can shine a beam of light onto your practice and that can inspire it.

And here is the link to the interview