Jhana cultivation and insight

zim zim, modified 13 Years ago at 5/5/10 7:29 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 5/5/10 7:29 AM

Jhana cultivation and insight

hello,
Recently i have been meditating and shifting through the jhanas 1 to 4 with no real set plan just an investigation and seeing how far i can go. Ive now made the resolve to cultivate 1st jhana and untill i completely do so i plan on staying there. My only problem is that i am a novice in regards to cultivation,experience and technique. I only use breath as my object and wish to know about kasinas and their uses. Can anyone shed some light on this subject or offer a web site?
Also, i am due to go to a Mahashi insight retreat in the summer so could you offer any advice on preperation before i go as in any meditation tips as to ensure i get the best from my time there.
Thankyou
thumbnail
Eric B, modified 13 Years ago at 5/5/10 10:19 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 5/5/10 10:19 AM

RE: Jhana cultivation and insight

Here is a link for a recent thread on the subject which includes some external links:

http://www.dharmaoverground.org/web/guest/discussion/-/message_boards/message/421228#_19_message_417654

A search of the threads should turn up more.

When using the breath to attain jhanas 1 through 4, did you do this just by watching the breath at the spot below the nose/above the lip area?
zim zim, modified 13 Years ago at 5/6/10 1:15 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 5/6/10 1:15 AM

Hi,
When attaining the jhanas i begin with nose only then once deeper in i begin to use the lip part as heavy breathing usually begins and makes it easier for me to concentrate and keep hold of. Is that a bit wacky?
thumbnail
Eric B, modified 13 Years ago at 5/6/10 11:43 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 5/6/10 11:43 AM

zim zim:
Hi,
When attaining the jhanas i begin with nose only then once deeper in i begin to use the lip part as heavy breathing usually begins and makes it easier for me to concentrate and keep hold of. Is that a bit wacky?