Michael's Practice Log

thumbnail
Michael Fogleman, modified 10 Years ago at 1/1/14 1:12 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 12/31/13 11:30 PM

Michael's Practice Log

I have the ordinary hopes for my practice log (recording progress, tracking insights, receiving advice, etc.), and a few unusual goals. But first, I should introduce myself and my practice.

History
I have been meditating for three years now (since December 2010). It has always been aimed at real achievement (read: enlightenment), although I have had various ideas about what this means and how to accomplish it. Moreover, while I think I have had real benefits from my practice, I don't think I've advanced in the progress of insight on any map. So, so far it has been largely touchy-feely, and I hope to make real, significant progress in the near future.

My practice has been somewhat unusual so far in that I have largely emphasized daily practice over retreats. I use the Equanimity iOS program to stay accountable to a minimum amount of time for daily practice, which has gradually increased from 15 minutes per day to 2 hours. As such, I have some basic statistics about how much I have practiced over time, although no real data about the quality or kind of practice. I am about to reach 700 hours.

(As an aside, I have a working hypothesis that enlightenment will occur at around 10k hours. Does anyone have any ideas / thoughts about whether or not significant development in insight conforms to other areas of expertise?)

I started by paying attention to my breath; I am not sure whether I was emphasizing concentration or insight. I was likely conflating the two practices. After doing a Goenka retreat in August of 2011, I used his techniques, especially the Body Scan technique, from 2011 to 2013.