What is this and how to use it in insight practice?

AT SkyWalker, modified 10 Years ago at 1/2/14 6:39 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 1/2/14 6:39 PM

What is this and how to use it in insight practice?

Hi,
I have been doing concentration for a couple of years on and off and then ended up in a Goenka retreat in an effort to get out of a Dark night that lasted almost 2 years. The Dark night was, at least thats how I understand it now, precipitated by a very rapid series of insights induced in a shamanistic setting that I was totally unprepared for ('nough said :-)). I guess the saying "Be careful what you ask for coz you might get it" is very true :-). Anyway.

During the retreat I worked very diligently and I could feel by the 3rd day how sharp my mind was getting. I got the hang of scanning quickly and although I wasn't consistent in my abilities to run a scan things went well. I completely broke down on the 10th day in the morning after gaining insight into something that bubbled up. I knew that something changed in me forever in exactly the same way I knew it after my shamanic adventures. I kept up the practice when I returned home. Long Dark Night over!

Enough background :-).

Recently I started noticing that I can, for lack of a better word, "light up" my body with sensations. What I mean by that is I can move from one point concentration on the breath to a certain "diffused" kind of awareness in which I'm aware of all of my body vibrating at the same time (sometimes with blank spots, although these blanks are getting narrower by day). I can then move my attention to almost any very small part of my body and sense whats going on there. I remember Goenka talking about this in one of the discourses and basically giving the prescription to verify the state by attempting to pinpoint as I explained above and if I remember correctly there was something about running the attention along the path of the spinal cord (but I'm not sure).