Concentration or Insight?

thumbnail
finding oneself, modified 10 Years ago at 3/16/14 8:30 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 1/7/14 9:33 PM

Concentration or Insight?

Hello, first post here. I'm a beginner meditating for a few years and recently I have found the motivation to meditate more regularly at longer durations, mainly the crappy feeling I get from not disciplining myself in some way.

I understand the importance of a clear goal and so my immediate goal is stream entry. But I'm just confused at how I should go about doing this and what my even more immediate goal should be. Maybe if I explain where I am at I could get some appropriate advise.

-When I begin to concentrate on my breath I eventually feel tingly sensations on the skin of my appendages and eventually other parts of the body. I will even feel this when I'm just sitting still reading or reclining. When I stay with the breath and really get into it like "settling into a well deserved bath" while simultaneously focusing on the pleasant tingling I go deeper into the breath and the pleasant sensation/tingling grows. Whenever I think about increasing the pleasure or getting 1st jhana I will very gently think "it doesn't matter or work that way. just focus on the breath" then the anxiety associated with such future oriented thoughts goes away and I return to the task at hand. Are these the beginnings of 1st jhana?