Can someone provide a little newbie technique instruction?

Pickle Bear, modified 10 Years ago at 1/9/14 12:31 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 1/9/14 12:31 AM

Can someone provide a little newbie technique instruction?

Hello there! emoticon

I've been meditating on and off, but mostly off, for the past five years. However now I'm trying to really be a lot more focused and actually make legitimate progress instead of just relaxing and getting the occasional bit of clarity. (I have experienced a few interesting things here and there, too, but never in a consistent way).

Currently I meditate for 30 minutes every morning. I'm trying to increase by 1 minute a day until I get to 60 minutes, but my knees are objecting so I'll either have to get a new posture or just be patient with my body. I currently sit in Seiza, with dyhani mudra, and the tip of my tongue touching the roof of my mouth, which I learned from a Zen center.

My breathing might be a little unusual. What I do is I breathe into my belly (well, into my lungs, but I guess this pushes down my diaphragm and makes my belly go out), but I want a full breath. In order to do this, I continue to inhale, but then my chest fills and my belly goes back in. This creates a slight tingling in my spine and it often cracks. I think this might be energy going up, but it never seems to pass my neck. I pause for a second, and then on the exhale I just relax until the end, when I force the breath out just a little bit. I try and make it a smooth process, though.