The survival center

Iulian Doroftei, modified 10 Years ago at 1/17/14 9:53 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 1/17/14 9:53 AM

The survival center

I have been meditating about for 3 months and this is an observation I've made during my sittings.

There is a common denominator for the thoughts that arise during my concentration practice. Their main source seems to be that place in my mind which is in charge with survival. Either they are desires or fears, jealousy or craving, satisfaction or disappointment, they all revolve around the entity in my brain which has the purpose of keeping me alive. If I think about past, I think of facts that stimulated or impeded on my survival status. When I envision the future, I see things that could stimulate or decrease my chances of survival. Money, sex, social status, influence, charisma, everything that disturbs my concentration comes from the same point in my mind, the survival center. On the contrary, when my environment (mental and physical) doesn't seem to challenge my overall living position, my meditation is smooth and I can concentrate better.
The diseased, the ill and the dead, all of these three revelations seen by the young Siddhartha outside the royal palace were strong challenges addressing directly to his survival center. Just take any of the defilements described by the teachings and each of it is a factor - positive or negative - in our overall survival status.
I've pondered on the quality of my thoughts during sittings and literally each of them could be labelled as originating or having something to do with my survival reflexes. No neutral thoughts were interfering with my practice, only the kind that had something to do with my life expectancy.
The training in morality may be the taming practice for this instinct. When we are good and all around us are good, our survival status is high, there are no dangers and therefore our concentration and insight practices will have a smooth ground to develop on.