How to slow the breathing (air hunger)

Carmen Elaine Claesson, modified 10 Years ago at 1/25/14 12:47 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 1/25/14 12:47 PM

How to slow the breathing (air hunger)

Hello,

I'm new to meditation (I've been meditating for about two months daily), and I wanted to get some advice from more experienced meditators here. I've been doing concentration meditation for about 20-30 minutes per day. My problem is that I can't seem to slow my breath without needing to take in a big gulp of air by yawning every few minutes. I have this problem when I'm not meditating as well. Even when I'm breathing completely normally in every day life, I often feel the need to yawn to fill my lungs because I feel like I'm not getting enough air, even though I am. I found out this is a condition called "air hunger" or dyspenea. It's not serious, but it's a nuisance during everyday life, and it's holding me back during meditation.

Most of the books I have read suggest that you focus on the feeling of the breath going in and out of the nostrils. I often find that doing this makes the air hunger worse! I'll be able to slow my breath and fall into a state of concentration and calm for a moment; I am aware of my wandering mind calming down, my body relaxing, and my focus centering on the breath. But then I feel as if my breathing is becoming shallow and I feel the need to yawn, which of course takes me away from concentration. I have felt as if I've been on the verge of entering a deeper meditative state several times, but this always happens and throws me off. Is there another way I can focus on my breath without focusing on the nostrils? Is there a certain way I should breath to overcome this, or should I try a different type of meditation, like vipassana? Would it be better to focus on the rising and falling of my diaphragm instead?
thumbnail
katy steger,thru11615 with thanks, modified 9 Years ago at 12/27/14 7:53 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 1/25/14 1:59 PM