Daily practice recommendations

vito Ginzburg, modified 10 Years ago at 2/3/14 5:10 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 2/3/14 3:20 AM

Daily practice recommendations

Hi,
I have been practising daily for a few months now.
Having been to 3 short weekend retreats mostly focused on mindfulness of breath and walking meditation.
My daily practice usually focuses on mindfulness of breath about 45 minutes sit.
Is it possible to practice insight and concentration if the resources I can allocate are 1 hour per day at max?

I wish to practice metta,insight and concentration .

Should I allocate time for each in a single sit? If so what are standard recommendation for time distribution ?

or focus each sit on a different practice ?

Thanks
thumbnail
Dream Walker, modified 10 Years ago at 2/3/14 7:02 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 2/3/14 7:02 PM

RE: Daily practice recommendations

vito Ginzburg:
Is it possible to practice insight and concentration if the resources I can allocate are 1 hour per day at max?
I wish to practice metta,insight and concentration .
Should I allocate time for each in a single sit? If so what are standard recommendation for time distribution ?
or focus each sit on a different practice ?

Read this about magick-and-the-brahma-viharas/
Daniel Ingram:

"As one repeats the phrases, one tries to connect to the fundamental feeling implied in the words. As the feeling of the Brahma Vihara grows, one turns that feeling into a samatha object, such that one takes that feeling and develops it directly, working with it, expanding it, gently coaxing it through any blockages or sticking points one finds, extending it through the body until it pervades the whole body, and finally takes the feeling far out into space.
In this way, one may take the first three Brahma Viharas to the Third Jhana, as they still contain a pleasant feeling of some sort, and the Fourth Brahma Vihara (Equanimity) to the Fourth Jhana and beyond, as Equanimity is the basis of the Formless Realms."