Feelings that things dissolve

james alexander ramos, modified 10 Years ago at 2/3/14 7:45 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 2/3/14 7:45 PM

Feelings that things dissolve

Hi ladies & gents,

I'm a newbie to the forum and was hoping someone can help me out. I've been meditating for several months now consistently, but before that on and off for a few years. Generally speaking when I'm meditating sometime about 30 minutes in when my concentration is steady my perception of things around me begins to dissolve. If you've ever fainted before the feeling is quite similar. I then panic and try to ground myself. As a newbie meditator I don't know if I'm doing it right or not. I tend to focus my attention as closely to my breath as possible, certainly not a wide awareness. Any help or suggestions would be most appreciated.

Best to you all,

James
J C, modified 10 Years ago at 2/3/14 7:54 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 2/3/14 7:54 PM

RE: Feelings that things dissolve

Are your eyes open or closed?

What do you mean specifically when you say they dissolve?
james alexander ramos, modified 10 Years ago at 2/3/14 9:31 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 2/3/14 9:31 PM

Hi JC,

My eyes are open. By dissolve I mean the visual sensory input begins to disappear and the only thing there is my attention on my breath breath. By dissolve I mean that this is a process (albeit a quick one)-- it doesn't happen all at once.. It's very similar to the way your sensory inputs begin to dissolve right before you are going to faint. That's really the closest feeling. Another description might be how a movie fades into a white screen before images reemerge on screen. I don't know if I'm doing something wrong or if I'm supposed to push through. It only happens if I manage to meditate for at least 30 minutes and my focus is pretty steady. I'm nervous by nature so the minute I feel these sensations I stop. Thanks for the reply JC. I'm very interested in following this path so any suggestions are more than appreciated.