Gap Year of Meditation

thumbnail
Kurt S, modified 10 Years ago at 2/5/14 8:17 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 2/5/14 8:17 PM

Gap Year of Meditation

Hi DhO,

First time poster, devoted subscriber.

I'm a 22-year old college student. I was hit in the face by meditation, unwittingly, when I sat a 10-day Goenka retreat about a year ago. Since then, I have been obsessed with meditation but have struggled to maintain a daily practice. This past summer, I went on a 7-day retreat at IMS. Although I do not have a consistent practice, I think I made some progress on the path of insight from sitting my first retreat. A fellow retreatant turned me on to MTCB, and I was instantly drawn to it. Considering this past year, I think I have been stumbling around in the dark night.

As expected, I have been thirsty for a several-month long retreat. I am about to start the process of applying to medical school, but I am taking a gap year. People (all highly driven but non-meditators) disabuse me of my obsession to go to Malaysia (i.e. Panditarama Lumbini) for this gap year. They say it is "smarter" for me to gain valuable medical experience. But, I'd rather set 'em up and knock 'em down and hit stream entry.

Only problem is that I have to be available for medical school interviews during the first several months of my gap year. Obviously, I cannot be flying back and forth from Malaysia. I thought about the 3-month retreat at IMS, but it takes place from Sept-Dec which is a hot time for interviews.

I am at a crossroads with what to do.

I know Goenka centers offer a sit-and-serve program where I could alternate sitting and serving retreats for up to a year. I have concerns though. It seems that the DhO turns to Mahasi-style noting for results. Can I make progress with a pure Goenka practice? Also, will this oscillation of sitting and serving hinder me from going deep?