Question about how exactly to spend the split seconds during Samatha

Iulian Doroftei, modified 10 Years ago at 2/18/14 8:04 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 2/18/14 8:04 AM

Question about how exactly to spend the split seconds during Samatha

I have been meditating daily for about 5 months (started with 0.5 hours a day and increased to almost 2 hrs). My goal is to develop my concentration skills so as to be able to get well to insight.
I've read MCTB and the most important threads on this forum and I guess I've attained reasonable periods of access concentration and even some unstable 1st Jhanna moments.

Still, I think I haven't fully understood the moment-by-moment Samatha technology. I suspect what solidifying the sensation of breath means, but I cannot link the general concept with my actual practice. What should I focus on? I think I've understood what Daniel Ingram said about feeling the pleasure of breathing (like doing it within a flower garden), but I simply don't know what to do with my focus within passing seconds. Of course, I can follow my breath moment by moment: how it starts, rises, peaks, descends, stops and so on. But this technique - as I understood - is part of Vipassana practice, it's not Samatha. If I should just "go with it", then I don't know exactly with what should I go?