Feel the need to go on a long retreat after college

thumbnail
Jake, modified 10 Years ago at 2/21/14 6:00 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 2/21/14 6:00 PM

Feel the need to go on a long retreat after college

As the title says, I have an urge to go on a long retreat mainly to move on from the dark night and get stream entry. Ill provide some background about myself and explain my current situation. Hopefully some of the more experienced members of this board can give me some advice and point me in the right direction.

I am 22 years old, from the US, and in my final semester of college. I have an opportunity to go on retreat soon after I graduate, sometime during the transition period between school and a job. I have no prior retreat experience and little meditation experience even though I meditate on a daily basis. I am also trying to start my own company with a friend of mine, something that seems promising, but due to my current state of being I feel like it is too big of a burden and puts a lot of stress on me. This start up, the job hunt, and class/school work are the main things I am currently working on. I do find time in the morning and during the day to meditate but I don't feel like I am progressing at a fast enough rate, if at all. I feel like my current practice and lifestyle (nutrition, exercise, sleep) are the main factors that help me deal with the dark night to make it less of an issue in my life. However I have this constant feeling that I am uneasy and the main word to describe my state of consciousness is 'spacey'.

I am 100% sure that I am dicking around the stages of the dark night. I started a thread a while ago with the reason why I believe I have crossed the A&P and am currently in the dn stages. I can clarify this further if necessary. My main practice consists of 20 minute sits where I concentrate on my breath. This helps stabilize me throughout the day but does not give me any insight. In terms of MTCB, I am reading through it now.