Loving-kindness and sinking feeling

Justin Michael Miller, modified 10 Years ago at 3/10/14 12:06 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 3/10/14 12:06 AM

Loving-kindness and sinking feeling

Hello, I came across this website while looking through Daniel Ingram's site. I was hoping to get some feedback from more experienced meditators.

So here is my issue: a few days ago I started practicing loving kindness, trying to follow the directions closely given in The Path of Purification. So basically I'd contemplate on how just as I want happiness all other sentient beings also want happiness, ext. Then when I got to sending metta toward someone I felt was a friend I experienced a very lovely absorption, very flowing, rapturous feeling, which I've read is normal for loving-kindness meditation. (I've experienced this before and it's always nice when it happens) But when I finished meditating I felt like I was very in the moment, gently blissed, but after twenty minutes I felt a very distinct sinking feeling. I still feel it now, like my energy is drained and I feel like there is darkness in my chest. Very tired and emotionless, drained. I'm not terrified, I'm just wondering if this is normal? Am I practicing the technique correctly? Should I just keep practicing to see where it leads?

Thank you for any feedback. emoticon
thumbnail
Avi Craimer, modified 10 Years ago at 3/31/14 3:20 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 3/31/14 3:19 PM

RE: Loving-kindness and sinking feeling

Justin Michael Miller:
when I finished meditating I felt like I was very in the moment, gently blissed, but after twenty minutes I felt a very distinct sinking feeling. I still feel it now, like my energy is drained and I feel like there is darkness in my chest. Very tired and emotionless, drained.