About MCTB

thumbnail
K O, modified 10 Years ago at 3/11/14 5:24 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 3/11/14 12:55 AM

About MCTB

I've been meditating for about 2-3 years and I am getting more and more seriously into it in time. That is how I found this site. Having an analytical mind, I'm trying to learn the most about different meditation practices and find a technique that is suitable for me. Recently I ran into a review of Ingram's book MCTB. I wanted to get people's opinion about it. I hope it is not a topic that is covered many times before and I hope it is not in bad taste to post it here. I'm particularly interested in the paragraph below:

"The outcome of the practice recommended in the book is not the outcome of practicing the Buddha's teaching, which is nibbana ("unbinding"), the end of dukkha (usually translated as "suffering" or "stress"). The product of Ingram's practice as recommended in this book is a state of endless cycling through something which Ingram, borrowing from St John of the Cross, calls the Dark Night, some of whose stages are Fear, Misery, Disgust and Desire for Deliverance (as well as nicer sounding states like Equanimity). There is no end to be reached, just a state of endless repetition of these stages at four succeedingly higher levels which are called by the same names as the Buddha's four stages of awakening, although they are clearly not the same thing at all. Rather than being the end of dukkha which the Buddha taught, this is more "being OK with dukkha".........

I'm curious about what people think about it. And maybe putting this particular passage aside, is what is reached by the teachings in MCTB different from what Buddha's teachings describes as nibbana? Is the end point different depending on which practice you do?

Here is the rest of the review. But I'm mainly interested in the above part.