Meditation Method

John Wilde, modified 10 Years ago at 3/13/14 5:56 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 3/13/14 5:42 AM

Meditation Method

I've spent some time researching and testing various approaches in order to settle into a longer-term practice routine, and I've come up with something that I think is suitable. I welcome any constructive criticism or suggestions.

First, where I'm at. I think I'm a good contemplator but definitely not an experienced meditator. I'm not very good at directing stable, laser-like concentration toward a single object and keeping it there, and I have not practiced much in that way. However, I'm pretty good at staying present, staying aware in an open and inclusive way, watching things arise and subside without being carried away by content. I'm also pretty good at applying awareness techniques on the move, in daily life (and in general prefer this to sitting).

I do have access to a natural kind of shamatha. I've been able to access this reliably since 2006. It's not a highly concentrated state but rather a peaceful and lucid background in which surface phenomena arise and subside. If you think of deep sleep as objectless consciousness (consciousness present only to itself), this is the kind of background I'm talking about: smooth, soothing, clear. Against this background, I can usually maintain a level of effort that's not too slack and not too tense, balanced/adjusted as needed. (The latter varies from day to day; plenty of room for improvement).

Overall, it seems like a pretty reasonable platform from which to launch a more targeted practice.