Cutting the chains of suffering

thumbnail
Chris G, modified 10 Years ago at 3/15/14 10:44 AM
Created 10 Years ago at 3/15/14 10:44 AM

Cutting the chains of suffering

CUTTING THE CHAINS OF SUFFERING

Most of the talk I see in meditation circles is about either perceptual changes (such as seeing the 3 characteristics) or the slow cultivation of positive emotions (esp. metta) and skillful conduct. But I tend to see very little about actually cutting out the mind's habit of craving at the deepest level, and whether this is indeed sufficient for the eradication of (psychological, at least) suffering. For example, do all negative emotions have craving at their root? Is there anyone around who's really eradicated all craving?

I've had some experiences on a Goenka retreat that have led me to believe that indeed, craving is at the root of all psychological dukkha. And moreover, at the root of craving is pleasant feeling. Here is a set of practice instructions which have helped me so far that are based on this idea. I still have a lot more work to do personally, so this is a work in progress for me, but perhaps it will be of interest. Consider these instructions to be experimental.

Hypotheses:

(I) All psychological suffering is a result of craving, which is a mental or physical inclination to reproduce, intensify, or prolong some experience.

(II) Craving originates in pleasant feeling, especially the gratification that comes from certain types of mental activity, such as cognizing the sense of "I am".

(III) This pleasant feeling is dedectable via sensations on the body.

(IV) When the mind observes clearly, and with understanding, the process by which suffering originates from pleasant feeling, it drops its habit of craving this feeling, and suffering is diminished.

Some instructions: