Need help with Nimittas (seeing lights)

thumbnail
Richard Zen, modified 13 Years ago at 5/23/10 11:10 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 5/23/10 11:15 AM

Need help with Nimittas (seeing lights)

I've been meditating on and off for about 2 years and I can now explain my concentration experiences.

I usually need to meditate about 20 to 30 mins to quiet my mind and then when it is I find I can latch onto my breath for a good few minutes and I see a brightening despite my closed eyes. The first time it happened I felt my body release relaxing chemicals and I felt like my brain increased concentration automatically on its own. I did have some subvocalization like "Oh wow!" but the concentration seemed more automatic and steady.

Now ever since then I can get slightly less bright nimittas with less powerful feelings of joy but a good concentration nonetheless.

The two stumbling blocks I'm having is I don't know what is Jhanic and what is access concentration, and I seem to be stuck at this level for a few months. I have been trying to repeat it (relaxing, mindfully feeling comfortable parts of my body, and following the abdomin).

Thanks for the help

Richard
thumbnail
Richard Zen, modified 13 Years ago at 5/24/10 10:40 AM
Created 13 Years ago at 5/24/10 10:40 AM

RE: Need help with Nimittas (seeing lights)

Okay looking at the nanas and jhanas table I can see I'm into the 1st jhana for a few minutes at the end of a 30 - 40 min sitting. Do I have to then elongate this experience before I can move onto vipassana or is it okay to move onto mental noting of the three characteristics?
J Adam G, modified 13 Years ago at 5/24/10 7:35 PM
Created 13 Years ago at 5/24/10 7:35 PM

RE: Need help with Nimittas (seeing lights) (Answer)