Koans and Noting

thumbnail
Andrew B, modified 10 Years ago at 4/2/14 12:50 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 4/2/14 12:50 PM

Koans and Noting

Hey, DhO. I don't post on here too often, but there's a question that's been wracking my brain.

In MCTB, in one of the sections where Daniel is talking about insight practices, in particular noting, he mentions that koan training and noting are essentially the same thing (I'm paraphrasing here).

So. I come from a zen background, mainly Rinzai, and I've encountered and worked with koans before. Only thing is, the main teacher at my zen center tends to throw koans at the students without telling them what to do with it. I've asked some of the other teachers what to do with a koan, and I've gotten about four different answers.

I've tried noting. I'm not good at it. I get overwhelmed and find it too cognitive, like I'm trying to stay with the basic senses, but the act of noting compels me to conceptualize and cognize too much, so that I'm more focused on labeling sensations rather than really recognizing them. After a short while, this becomes exhausting.

So here's my question: Exactly how does koan training and noting practice match up? From what I can tell, they almost seem like opposites.

Any insight into this is greatly appreciated.
thumbnail
Chris G, modified 10 Years ago at 4/2/14 1:57 PM
Created 10 Years ago at 4/2/14 1:50 PM

RE: Koans and Noting

My two cents, based on a (very) little experience with koans. They have three functions:

1. They test the mind of the student. If you can immediately produce a "correct" answer to a koan you've never heard before, it means you've reached whatever level of understanding / enlightenment that particular koan points to.

2. They serve a purpose for concentration, by interrupting the usual discursive thought processes of the student, eliciting "don't know mind"

3. They serve some kind of insight purpose too, by priming the mind for a particular insight to occur.