right livelihood & big city life dilemma...

thumbnail
Ufuk C, modified 9 Years ago at 4/12/14 4:35 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 4/12/14 4:35 PM

right livelihood & big city life dilemma...

i have a rather silly & entwined question about keeping my moral code...

today, i have been asked to design an online shopping website for a well known fast food chain. one that treats chickens like sh..t.

i design. i make my living by selling my design skills. on the other hand i don't feel comfortable working for a company that i dislike & never buy anything from.

does that break my sila?

i mean, i have lots of clients and every single one of them has negative effects on mankind one way or another... small or big... none of them is clean. they are large corporations. we know about them.

but if i choose not to work with them, how can i pay my rent, or my bills?

so this dilemma has always been bothering me.

any opinions?
A Dietrich Ringle, modified 9 Years ago at 4/12/14 7:54 PM
Created 9 Years ago at 4/12/14 7:51 PM

RE: right livelihood & big city life dilemma...

Are you vegetarian? If it were me I would listen to my inner vision.. I don't believe in a moral code other than what is dictated by my conscious, which has many elements and is subject to flux.

So I could just as easily tell/advise you to quit your job than to go along with your client. I had a job once. Working as a cashier was so traumatizing on my system that body started splitting open from the inside. It scared me so bad I eventually had to spend three weeks in the mental hospital.
There are others who manage this type of thing much better, so if you have doubts I'd say there are always lessons to be learned. Some are just nicer than others.
thumbnail
Chris G, modified 9 Years ago at 4/13/14 7:08 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 4/13/14 7:02 AM

Utku C.:

does that break my sila?