Sleep problems - practice related? [Eudoxos .] [MIGRATE]

Migration 62 Daemon, modified 9 Years ago at 5/7/14 5:00 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 5/7/14 5:00 AM

Sleep problems - practice related? [Eudoxos .] [MIGRATE]

Sleep problems - practice related? [Eudoxos .]

Eudoxos . - 2014-04-27 19:37:47 - Sleep problems - practice related?

Hi everybody,

I've been doing samatha-like practices daily since 1998 and switched over to vipassana in 2011 - I've done 8 retreats in the Chom Tong tradition, with extended fruitions (from 20 minutes to 1 hour) occuring at least since the 3rd retreat.

I observed that usually about 4 weeks after the retreat (fruitions), I have very sound sleep, there is little mental noise going on during the day, and lots of mindfulness. Then there is usually about 4 weeks transition period with mood swings, non-specific stress building up (clenched teeth after waking up), phases of big tiredness altering with energetic states and high concentration, and very bad sleep - in some cases only a few hours in the entire night, usually 6 hours sleep, then practice (for the lack of doing something better at 5am), then 2 more hours of sleep. It is only rarely that the mind wakes up with some thought I could not get rid of spinning, it is really much less specific "tension" somewhere. Then progressively the mind stabilizes in a relatively dull region, where the swings are not so radical, but the state is unpleasant and any depth of experience is absent. I practice usually between 30/30-50/50 (walking/sitting) daily.

I tried to see if this could be explainable by the mind cycling through the POI stages, but there is no clear match really (though the stages are very clearly present at retreats, and were even during retreats when I knew nothing about those stages).