First thread, First practice log [Travis Gene McKinstry] [MIGRATE]

Migration 62 Daemon, modified 9 Years ago at 5/7/14 5:23 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 5/7/14 5:23 AM

First thread, First practice log [Travis Gene McKinstry] [MIGRATE]

First thread, First practice log [Travis Gene McKinstry]

Travis Gene McKinstry - 2013-12-06 02:05:13 - First thread, First practice log

I'm new to this whole forum-stuff. This online sangha community is too beautiful to ignore. Thank you all for the kind advice and guidance.

In about 3 days I will begin what is a second attempt at a solo concentration meditation retreat. The first time I tried this I lasted a full 24hrs before getting too restless (obviously believing too much in the mind stories). However, those 24 hours were still the most interesting 24hrs I had ever experienced and I'm attempting to not hold onto them coming into this retreat.

What happened was I had been focusing on the breath for a couple of hours. Sitting for an hour or so, meditating on and off (as my mind would wander often) and I began to get frustrated. I started to get upset at myself for wandering then gave up on the retreat in whole. Once I gave up (hint hint), I sat down and just closed my eyes. I immediately entered access concentration and began having sights of what seemed to be the nimitta (if I spelled that right). A few minutes later a strong burst of piti began to arise and permeate my entire being; I feel like a rush of nice, beautiful adrenaline ran through my entire body and my heart began to race a little. I began to breath faster as if I was running and this lasted for about a minute, dissipating my concentration and the nimitta dropped. I awoke from that feeling better than I've ever felt with more confidence in the path and teachings than I've ever had.

Ever since then I've taken the path more seriously and haven't been able to think of much else.