My practice log - Meditation & working with anxiety [Elijah Smith] [MIGRATE

Migration 62 Daemon, modified 9 Years ago at 5/7/14 5:28 AM
Created 9 Years ago at 5/7/14 5:28 AM

My practice log - Meditation & working with anxiety [Elijah Smith] [MIGRATE

My practice log - Meditation & working with anxiety [Elijah Smith]

Elijah Smith - 2013-07-30 23:18:11 - My practice log - Meditation & working with anxiety

I figured I'd post up a practice log since I've been slacking on my private one and am about to hit an intense period in my life (starting grad school) and want to make sure I'm staying on track with my meditation.

I've been meditating steadily for 40 minutes a day or more for nearly two years at this point with a heavy emphasis on mindfulness of every day activities. I got into meditation as a result of developing a medium amount of social anxiety after a couple tramatic experiences. Thus far, my journey has liberated some of my emotions but introduced other new ones. For a while I didn't understand why I wasn't rapidly improving given my intense effort and all of the scientific research I read. I got a teacher, but didn't find the interactions to be that helpful.